Anchor in BlueGriffon

Familiar with web-design ? Trouble with images, tables ? Any other queries ?

Moderators: BobCP, agsone, Neil Parks, gregtutor, Lem3

Anchor in BlueGriffon

Postby MarshallAbrams on Sun Jun 23, 2019 3:36 pm

When I first open a file in BG WYSIWYG mode, I see the anchor symbol. But after switching to source and returning to WYSIWYG the anchors are no longer displayed. Is there some setting that will prevent the anchors from disappearing.

Unrelated question: I have tried to join the BG group on Google groups but seem to be ignored. Does anyone know how to reach the moderators there? Is it worth the trouble?
MarshallAbrams
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:11 pm
Location: Silver Spring, MD

Re: Anchor in BlueGriffon

Postby gregtutor on Tue Jun 25, 2019 7:22 am

As far as I know the BG Google Group is owned and run by Daniel Glazman, with no other support. New members are put moderation by default. Unfortunately, it appears Daniel only monitors the group rarely. My own experience of Daniel's support for BG is poor. It seems that when I paid for my v2.0 licence I used a different email addresses and this confused things for him. I never did get a working licence for it.

Early versions of v2.0 implemented a Mac-oriented dark theme which I found unacceptable anyway, so I still use v1.7.2 with the old Add-ons and now run that under Linux Mint.
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3789
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)

Re: Anchor in BlueGriffon

Postby gregtutor on Tue Jun 25, 2019 7:34 am

MarshallAbrams wrote:When I first open a file in BG WYSIWYG mode, I see the anchor symbol. But after switching to source and returning to WYSIWYG the anchors are no longer displayed. Is there some setting that will prevent the anchors from disappearing.
I can't reproduce that issue. Can you post a short snippet of code that produces the issue. For example, would this do it for you:
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
  <head>
    <meta content="text/html; charset=windows-1252" http-equiv="content-type">
    <title></title>
  </head>
  <body>
    <p><a id="anchor">Here is a <a href="myfile.html">link</a>.</a></p>
  </body>
</html>

One possibility is that the page you are loading is complex and has errors in it. In such cases BG will re-write code to attempt to correct it. That can have a disastrous effect on a poorly coded page. I've seen pages that have lost virtually all their content when loaded into either BlueGriffon, or its predecessor KompoZer.
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3789
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)

Re: Anchor in BlueGriffon

Postby gregtutor on Tue Jun 25, 2019 8:51 am

Incidentally, I produced the anchor in the code above by clicking on the <p> tag on the structure bar, at the bottom of the screen (to select all text within the tag) and then clicking on the Anchor button on the toolbar.

This produces the poor (but compliant) code seen. It's poor because of this change in HTML5

w3schools.com wrote:Differences Between HTML 4.01 and HTML5

In HTML 4.01, the <a> tag could be either a hyperlink or an anchor. In HTML5, the <a> tag is always a hyperlink, but if it has no href attribute, it is only a placeholder for a hyperlink.

What I should have done, having clicked on <p> tag in the structure bar, is enter the name for the "anchor" in the "ID" drop-down. The code produced would then have become:

Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
  <head>
    <meta content="text/html; charset=windows-1252" http-equiv="content-type">
    <title></title>
  </head>
  <body>
    <p id="anchor">Here is a <a href="myfile.html">link</a>.</p>
  </body>
</html>

You'd have no anchor but the structure bar would accurately record the id that has been placed in the code, and let's face it, the only reason for an anchor that is not a link is to produce the "ID" on which one can hang the CSS code that you want to attach to that element.
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3789
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)


Return to General Q & A


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests