Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

HTML Source, Tables, CSS, JavaScript, and Embed/Object.

Moderators: BobCP, agsone, Neil Parks, gregtutor, Lem3

Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby gregtutor on Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:57 am

Hi Gang,

I have been trying to help someone with a gallery. They wish to implement the one at:

http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menu/cssplay-hover-click-slideshow.html

My "student" runs a Mac and reports that all that appears in KompoZer is a light grey square with black border and three boxes in the top left. Under Windows I see the same result in KompoZer and Firefox 8. Under IE9 and Chrome15 it appears to work as advertised (i.e. it lacks some of the bells and whistles under IE).

I reported the problem to Stu, but he says it works for him under Firefox8. What do others see?

I have to assume it is an Add-on conflict of some kind, as I am not aware of any unusual options that I have selected. Any other suggestions would be welcome.
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby BobCP on Wed Nov 30, 2011 12:48 pm

Win XP/Firefox 8 shows the page correctly. Kompozer ( 0.7/0.8 ) doesn't.
Last edited by BobCP on Wed Nov 30, 2011 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BobCP
Moderator
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:03 am
Location: Connecticut

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby gregtutor on Wed Nov 30, 2011 1:38 pm

I'm under Win7. Stu recommended a re-install of Firefox. I've obtained a fresh download and installed over the top of my existing installation to no effect. I'm slightly reluctant to do an Uninstall followed by a fresh install because of the risk of losing my many bookmarks etc. Besides the existing installation seems to work perfectly on all other pages. Weird! Why should it work for you and Stu but not me?
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby wink0r on Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:46 pm

I dug out the netbook that has W7 home basic to check. FF was still at v5 but I let it update to v8 and checked the CSS Play page and it worked fine.

FireFox offers the sync service that stores a copy of your bookmarks in the cloud. You can then access your bookmarks from other computers - or your own in case of catastrophic loss.
wink0r
 
Posts: 2595
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:10 pm
Location: East Coast - USA
Country: United States (us)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby dr-john on Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:54 pm

Can you post a link to your version of the page, so that we can check you have done things properly.
dr-john
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 1:37 pm
Location: Kent
Country: Scotland (sp)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby gregtutor on Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:00 pm

dr-john wrote:Can you post a link to your version of the page, so that we can check you have done things properly.
Ah! You make the same mistake that Stu did when I first contacted him.

I'm not talking about my attempt at implementing it, I mean his page at the URL given at the top of this topic. It's that which isn't working on my machine. Here's what I see:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby agsone on Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:11 am

That CSSPlay page works fine on my Mac (10.6.8) with FF 8.0.1

There seems to be a boatload of javascript on that page (and presumably in the menu - or is that CSS3 animation?). Stating the obvious but are you sure you haven't deactivated that?

No persistent settings running in the WebDeveloper extension? (Don't think you can but I'm clutching at straws)
Last edited by agsone on Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
agsone
Moderator
 
Posts: 1376
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 7:33 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Country: Scotland (sp)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby dr-john on Fri Dec 02, 2011 4:29 pm

It is a css slide show. Disabling Javascript has no effect on it. Nor does this affect the menu (it is cssplay remember!)

The javascript runs the ads that pay for the site's upkeep, and the "like" buttons.

The problem would seem to be your browser.
dr-john
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 1:37 pm
Location: Kent
Country: Scotland (sp)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby gregtutor on Fri Dec 02, 2011 4:32 pm

dr-john wrote:The problem would seem to be your browser.
I'm accepting that. Just got to get round to re-installing it from scratch, as the install of the current download over the existing installation made no difference.
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby agsone on Sat Dec 03, 2011 4:03 pm

dr-john wrote:It is a css slide show. Disabling Javascript has no effect on it. Nor does this affect the menu (it is cssplay remember!)

He has been doing more stuff involving javascript of late but on reflection that's all in a separate site (which you sometimes jump to from within CSS Play, his navigation is getting bogged down by the vastness of the content). I did think I'd spotted something in the source code but evidently was mistaken. That said, given that there is animation on the demo it must be using CSS3 and I would have thought that KompoZer would likely not handle that well - I doubt it would go as far as "cleaning" it from the style sheet as it does comments but it's unlikely to work seamlessly.
agsone
Moderator
 
Posts: 1376
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 7:33 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Country: Scotland (sp)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby gregtutor on Sun Dec 04, 2011 6:02 pm

Just done a uninstall and reinstall (though, admittedly, I opted to retain bookmarks, etc) and it has made no difference.
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)

Re: Problem with a Stu Nicholls Demo

Postby gregtutor on Mon Dec 12, 2011 2:02 pm

A few days on and other weird things were happening to Firefox. I noticed that links to anchors on a page were not scrolling to the anchor point, but only opening the page.

Finally, this morning. Firefox was refusing to open at all.

So I have now done a full installation delete and re reinstalled from scratch. The page in question now opens and does all it should.
Greg Chapman
http://www.gregtutor.co.uk
Helping new users of KompoZer - but using BlueGriffon
gregtutor
Moderator
 
Posts: 3784
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:25 am
Location: The Norfolk Broads, UK
Country: England (en)


Return to Advanced Design Q & A


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest